Build elevated ring-expressway system to ease congestion

I am glad ST Forum published my letter “Build elevated ring-expressway system to ease congestion” on 7 March 2013.   See JPEG format below.

The Govt should build a two-tier elevated expressway ring system to link Jurong to Woodlands, then to Changi, to Marina South and back to Jurong going around the fringes of the island.   This will be a massive project and will not be cheap.  This project might have to be considered after 2030.

Meanwhile, the Govt should consider and build a cheaper seamless inner-city elevated expressway ring system within the 10-17 years to 2030.

The Govt should plan to reduce the number of vehicles on the surface roads by moving more cars up to the inner-city elevated expressway ring system.   This will mean less congestion on the surface roads.

This will also mean public transport like buses will be able to use the surface roads to provide a more efficient service with less traffic congestion.

Overall productivity level at the national level will rise and work-life balance will also improve when there is less traffic congestion.

When there are traffic jams or slow traffic flow on surface roads, cities pay a high price as people sitting idle in their vehicles are not productive.   Precious hours are lost plus burning fuel while waiting.  The total monetary value of the lost must be significant.

Singapore has the double-tier expressway at Keppel Road, Pasir Panjang Road and West Coast Road.

In the long run, the Govt should plan ahead and build the seamless ring-elevated expressway system going around the island to link the fringes of the island connecting N-E-S-W-N.  The ring-road system is not a new idea.  There are ring road systems in Nagoya, Paris and Chengdu.

We should discourage motorists from taking short-cuts across the centre of our island.  The luxury of driving short distances cutting across the middle of the island must end once the ring-expressway is constructed.

We must make it stick in the minds of motorists that driving 20 to 30 km or more should be the norm like driving in other big cities as most people stay in the country-side far away from the CBD.  They drive long distances and driving 40 km to them is a way of life.  Singaporeans will have to accept driving longer distances.

10 years of shortsightedness have caused the neglect of our infrastructures. Time to fix it.

If we are not ready to build an elevated-ring expressway [too expensive and extensive to build, and hopefully will be built after 2030] to connect N-E-S-W-N going around the fringes of the island to meet the transport needs of 7m people in 2030, I hope the Govt will build a less costly seamless inner-city elevated ring expressway system [within the coming 10-17 years] by extending the existing elevated expressway at Keppel/Pasir Panjang/West Coast Rd to Clementi, Beauty World, Thomson, Ang Mo Kio, Serangoon, Hougang, Eunos, Bedok, Marine Parade, Marina South, Shenton, and then back to Keppel.

The Govt should learn from Nagoya which has an elevated Ring-expressway in the city.   Nagoya also has many high-rise auto parking facilities in the city.   Singapore should look into this too and learn from Nagoya.

====

About tankoktim

It is a joy to share, and the more I share, the more it comes back in many ways and forms. Most of what I shared are not mine. I borrowed and shared it on my Blog. If you like any particular post in my Blog, please feel free to share it far and wide with your loved ones, friends and contacts. You may delete my name before sending it to them. You may also use the articles to write on the same topic or extract and paste any part of it in your article. My posts are available to all, young and old, students too. If they wish, they can extract or plaglarize any of the points to write their articles or essays with it. Np. ============== I share what I wrote worldwide with Facebook friends and contacts, not with Singaporeans only. I share it by pasting the link method as it is easier and a shortcut rather than copy paste my comments in full text. Some want me to stop posting. I shall stop giving comments and/or my link when others stop posting. When they stop, I stop. When they continue to give comments, I shall continue to give my short-cut link, or a short cut-and-paste comment plus the link. If I stop giving my link or comments, it will by default be letting others a free hand to give possibly a one-sided comment without anyone giving the other perspective on an issue. If I stay quiet, it will be considered my failure not to give the opposite perspective. Some want me to be silent, and to stop posting. If I accept their demands, it will be a failure to my Facebook friends worldwide by staying silent. I owe it to my Facebook friends and to the society to comment and give an opposite perspective on an issue. ======= My contact: tankoktim@yahoo.co.uk
This entry was posted in Population, Productivity, Roads and Expressways, Transport and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment